Grilled Chicken Tacos with Pineapple Salsa

img_7194When I’m planning out my dinners for the week, I always consider whether or not they will be good leftover for lunch.  I get bored easily when it comes to lunch so leftovers can be an easy fix for that.  They add more variety than just your average sandwich or salad.  I knew these chicken tacos would fit the bill.  And they were the perfect opportunity for me to use extra pineapple I had leftover from my pineapple and spinach smoothies.

The flavor combo of the tacos and salsa tasted like summer and what a great reminder to have in the midst of winter (I love the change of seasons and can’t wait for snow, but ahhh summer . . . )  I originally wanted to serve these as tostadas, but my local grocery store seemed to be out of them.  I used my favorite La Tortilla Factory corn tortillas (see previous post for link) instead.  I warmed them in a little bit of coconut oil till they bubbled and were lightly browned on each side.

Since I can’t have a grill at my apartment, I used my Le Creuset grill pan instead.  I’m so glad I purchased it a few months ago.  It does a great job of grilling, is easy to clean up and doesn’t take up a lot of space.  I actually leave it out on my stove top for easy access.  If you don’t want to grill the chicken, you could pan fry the chicken instead or even do a shredded version in the crock pot.

I didn’t think the tacos needed anything other than the salsa, but you could serve with guacamole or other toppings of your choice.  No one likes a sad desk lunch so I hope you try these out!

Ingredients
1 1/2 pounds organic chicken breast pounded to 1/2 inch thickness (you can slice them too but using a meat mallet is a great way to bang out any frustrations lol)
3/4 teaspoon smoked paprika
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 1/2 teaspoons cumin
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 /4 teaspoon dried oregano
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon honey
Juice and zest of one lime + juice of half a lime
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 cup finely chopped pineapple
1/2 small red onion, finely chopped
1/2 cup grape tomatoes, chopped
1/2 jalapeno, finely chopped
Bunch fresh cilantro, finely chopped
8 corn tortillas

Heat grill pan over high heat.  In a small bowl, whisk together all of the spices, honey, juice and zest of one lime, and olive oil.  Place chicken breasts in a large plastic bag.  Add marinade to bag and coat the chicken evenly.  Seal and refrigerate for 1 hour or overnight.

While the chicken is marinating, prepare the salsa by combining the pineapple, red onion, tomatoes, jalapeno, cilantro and juice of half a lime.  Refrigerate until ready to use.

Add the chicken to the hot grill pan and grill until chicken is thoroughly cooked and no longer pink.  Flip once while grilling.  Remove from pan and transfer to a cutting board.  Allow to rest for a few minutes before slicing on a diagonal.  Serve with warm tortillas and the pineapple salsa.

*Recipe adapted from jessicagavin.com

Leave a Reply

