Sweet Potato Quesadillas with Radish Salsa

Happy Holidays!  It’s hard to believe we are at the tail end of 2016!  It feels like summer was not that long ago so how can January just be around ther corner?  I don’t know about you, but I need to work on my goals for 2017.  And my blog is at the top of my list.  I gained some momentum back in the fall with regular posts but have slacked off since November.  The past month has been a blur, and going forward I need to dedicate some time each week to share all of the dishes I make.  Setting aside more time for the things I enjoy also goes for painting and a few other things.

img_0386But back to Sunday Girl Eats.  I have a bunch of recipes I’ve wanted to share, but last night I made a batch of sweet potato quesadillas and just had to post about them.  I’m always looking for ways to eat more veggies and to eat healthier in general.  I find that if I’m really organized and prepared for the week when it comes to food, I have a much better chance at making this happen.  These quesadillas were easy to make and contained ingredients you most likely have on hand.  The radish salsa was uncomplicated too.  They were great leftover for lunch today, and I froze some extra for nights when I just don’t feel like cooking.

I hope you’ll continue to follow me in 2017 and can’t wait to share more great recipes!  Happy cooking and Happy New Year!

Ingredients
1 medium yellow onion, finely chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
3 tablespoons olive oil
4 cups grated peeled sweet potato (about 2 large potatoes)
1 teaspoon chili powder
2 teaspoons cumin
Pinch or 2 of cayenne pepper
Kosher salt
Freshly ground black pepper
Juice of half a lime + extra for salsa
1 cup grated cheese of your choice (I used Lisanatti Almond Cheddar)
Fresh cilantro
16 small corn tortillas (my favorite are La Tortilla Factory’s Hand Made Style Tortillas Yellow Corn)
Radishes, finely chopped
Red onion, finely chopped
1/2 jalapeño, minced

img_0388Preheat oven to 350º F.  In a large pan over medium heat, sauté the onion and garlic till soft.  Add the sweet potatoes, chili powder, cumin, cayenne pepper, and salt & pepper to taste. Cook until potatoes are tender and lightely browned.  Remove from heat and stir in lime juice.

Line a large baking tray (or two) with 8 tortillas. Top each tortilla with the potato mixture, cheese, and some cilantro.  Cover with remaining tortillas.  Bake at 350º F for about 10-15 minutes or until cheese is melted.

img_0387For the radish salsa, combine radishes, red onion, jalapeño, cilantro, and remaining lime juice.  I used about 5 or 6 radishes and half of a small red onion.

Serve the quesadillas with the radish salsa.  I also served with a small amount of Honey Jalapeño Sauce from a local restaurant, Alumni Grill.  It’s delicious!
*Adapted from Alexandra’s Kitchen

One thought on “Sweet Potato Quesadillas with Radish Salsa

  1. Pingback: Avocado Fritters with Cashew Hollandaise Sauce | Sunday Girl Eats

Leave a Reply

