Roasted Carrot Soup w/ Apples, Turmeric & Ginger

I have been on a soup kick lately.  I wasn’t feeling well last week and was hoping soup would do the trick.  Plus most soups are easy to throw together, freeze well and are hearty enough to eat on their own.  Prior to not feeling well, I already had a batch of chicken tortilla soup cooking in the slow cooker.  Unfortunately, I was disappointed by the outcome.  Partly because I inadvertently bought no sodium chicken stock (I usually buy low sodium), and I neglected to add extra salt.  Once soup is finished cooking, I find it’s hard to doctor up.  I also felt something was missing from the recipe.  It needed more heat and flavor.  I have another chicken tortilla soup recipe that calls for poblanos so I think I’ll try that one out next time.

Luckily, the roasted carrot soup I made midweek did not disappoint.  It was just what I was looking for and was full of immune boosting ingredients.  The consistency was similar to a butternut squash bisque and pairs nicely with a good hearty bread.  You could also serve with grilled cheese or serve on its own.  I actually had a side of tater tots with it the one night, and it was the perfect comforting dish.  I had combined parts of two different recipes for this one, and I should note that you can leave out the coconut yogurt that gets added at the end.  I only added a little less than half a cup, but I think the soup tasted slightly better prior to adding.  And it’s definitely worth taking the time to roast the carrots first.  It brings out the sweetness of them and gives a better flavor overall.

My soup adventures continue as I have a batch of pork posole in the slow cooker as I’m typing this.  I’ve always wanted to make it, and I’m still congested so I’m hoping the heat/spice from the jalapeno and chiles help!  Please share some of your favorite soup recipes in the comments section below. 🙂

P.S. On a side note, you must check out www.sincerelyusblog.com .  A good friend from college and a few of her friends recently started this fantastic blog!  It’s full of fun, fashion and fitness.  Thanks!

Ingredients
1 1/2 pounds carrots, chopped into 1/2-inch rounds
1 large sweet onion, chopped
1 large or 2 medium tart apples (I used Pink Lady), peeled and chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 teaspoons ground turmeric
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground ginger
4 cups vegetable stock
A few sprigs of thyme
Olive oil
1/2 cup coconut yogurt (feel free to omit)
Kosher salt
Freshly ground black pepper

img_7934Preheat oven to 425º F.  Place carrots on a rimmed baking tray and toss with olive oil and salt and pepper.  Roast at 425º F for about 20-25 minutes or until they begin to caramelize.  While the carrots are roasting, heat a large dutch oven over medium heat.  Add 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil, onions and apple.  Cook until they are soft.  Add the garlic, turmeric, cumin and ginger and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds.  Add the vegetable stock, carrots and thyme.  Bring to a simmer.  Reduce heat, cover and cook until the carrots are tender, about 20 minutes.  Remove from heat and allow to cool slightly.  Discard the sprigs of thyme.  Using an immersion blender (I love my Cuisinart one), blend the soup until it is smooth and creamy.  (If you use a blender or food processor instead, be careful blending the soup and allow to cool longer before blending.)  If you decide to use the coconut yogurt, add to the soup and blend again.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Return to the stove and heat to a simmer.  Serve with additional freshly ground pepper.

Leave a Reply

