Honey Ginger Pork Meatballs

My nana, grandmom, and Aunt Betty :)

My nana, grandmom, and Aunt Betty 🙂

I don’t know about you, but Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday! For some Thanksgivings when I was little, we would go to my Aunt Betty’s in Reading and then York.  They were some of the best holidays spent with cousins and extended family.  And my Aunt Betty was one of the sweetest people you’d ever meet.  The food was always great too, and we’d always end up pulling out the leftovers later at night to have turkey sandwiches.  That’s my kind of night!  My mom now hosts dinner, and I am on dessert duty.  Some day I’d like to take over the tradition, and my first order of business is to include a pre main course of lasagna! Italian I am not, but they definitely know how to do Thanksgiving up right, lol!

So what do honey ginger pork meatballs have to do with Thanksgiving?  Nothing, but I knew I had to get this post done before I head off to the kitchen to work on my desserts and famous cranberry chutney.  I’ll be sure to share the recipes for the desserts I make.  You can find the cranberry chutney recipe in an Instagram post from last Thanksgiving.

These honey ginger pork meatballs might be one of my new favorites.  I love fresh ginger, and the honey caramelized on the outside of the meatballs when I cooked them.  I paired them with a salad a mixed greens topped with pomegranate, roasted acorn squash, and fried walnuts.  Yum!

img_0377For the squash, I tossed the slices in honey, olive oil, and salt & pepper and roasted at 425º F for about 30 minutes.  To make the  walnuts, you blanch them in boiling water for about 30 seconds and then transfer to a paper towel to cool.  Then dredge them in powdered sugar and fry in oil till they float.  Drain on paper towels, cool, and store in an airtight container for up to 5 days.  They make a great addition to any salad or are good just as a snack!

I hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving!  Happy Cooking!!!

Ingredients
1 pound lean ground pork
1 egg
1/8 cup red wine vinegar
1/4 to 1/2 cup panko breadcrumbs
About a 2″ piece fresh ginger, grated
2 tablespoons honey
Kosher salt
Freshly ground black pepper
2 tablespoons olive oil

img_0379Combine all of the ingredients through the honey and season mixture with salt and pepper.  Roll pork mixture into golf ball size (or slightly smaller) meatballs.  Heat olive oil in a large pan over medium heat.  Add meatballs in small batches.  Brown on all sides and continue cooking until cooked through.  Transfer to a paper towel lined dish.  Serve with roasted squash salad.

One thought on “Honey Ginger Pork Meatballs

Leave a Reply

