Kale Muffins-Two Ways

img_4658Aside from chicken meatballs, muffins are probably my second favorite thing to make.  Over the past few years, I’ve made so many different variations of muffins-from savory to sweet and everything in between-that I’ve lost track.  They’re one of my go-to breakfast options for the work week and also make a great snack.  This past week I ended up making two different versions, both using kale.  I’m a big fan of incorporating extra veggies into my diet any way I can.  I’m also a big fan of incorporating bacon into it, and the first muffins I made did just that! 🙂

Kale, corn, bacon, and jalapeno came together for these muffins, and they were really good!  I ended up eating them for breakfast with tomato butter I made a few weeks ago (see Instagram for recipe), but I think I would enjoy them even more with a big bowl of chili.  I definitely recommend using fresh corn if possible.  I was lucky to still have some ears of Jersey corn on hand for mine.

img_4795The second batch of muffins came from a recipe compliments of the blog Vegging at the Shore.  Vegging at the Shore features fabulous, healthy recipes crafted by Marci Lutsky and her mini chefs!  I’ve done kale and bananas together in smoothies, but I never thought to combine them in muffins.  They proved to be a great combo, and I’m glad Marci shared this recipe!  I followed her recipe except for a few changes.  Since I didn’t have whole wheat flour or apple sauce on hand as the original recipe called for, I substituted in 1 1/4 cups oats and about a 1/2 cup almond butter.  I also added 1/4 cup milk since the almond butter and oats made the batter a little too thick.  Lastly, I added a few coarsely chopped bittersweet chips to a handful of the muffins.  These muffins are a great idea especially if you have extra kale and ripe bananas to use up and are looking for a healthy breakfast option.

img_4653Ingredients
1 small bunch kale, cleaned and stems removed
4 strips cooked bacon, torn into bite size pieces
4 tablespoons butter, melted
4 tablespoons coconut oil, melted
1 1/4 cup oats
1 cup cornmeal
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 cup 2% milk
2 large eggs
2 tablespoons honey
1 jalapeno, finely diced
1 cup fresh corn kernels

Preheat oven to 375º F.  Steam kale until bright green and just tender.  Cool and coarsely chop into bite size pieces.  In a medium bowl, whisk together dry ingredients.  In another bowl, whisk together butter, coconut oil, milk, eggs and honey.  Add to dry ingredients and stir until just combined.  Fold in kale, bacon, jalapeno, and corn.  Divide batter evenly among lined muffin cups.  Bake until golden, about 22 minutes.  Let cool for 5 minutes and then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

You could also use this batter for corn bread  or even add some cheddar cheese.   What are some of your favorite muffin recipes?

*Recipe adapted from Martha Stewart Magazine

One thought on “Kale Muffins-Two Ways

  1. Pingback: Chili Two Ways | Sunday Girl Eats

Leave a Reply

