Zucchini and Sun Dried Tomato Chicken Meatballs

IMG_4215I like chicken meatballs so much I could probably devote an entire month of cooking to coming up with new variations of them!  In my last post, I mentioned how I made zucchini and sun dried tomato ones for my mini dinner party.  I’ve used sun dried tomatoes before in my chicken meatballs but also wanted to incorporate zucchini since summer squash is great this time of year (obviously given its name).  Zucchini also helps add moisture, and the last thing you want is a dry, tough meatball.  The great thing about chicken meatballs is they don’t really require any kind of sauce or dip.  You can eat them on their own or pair them with a salad as I like to do.  I think my next batch will include roasted eggplant.  I’ll let you know how they turn out!

Ingredients
2 pounds lean ground chicken (do not use fat free)
1 medium zucchini, grated
3-4 tablespoons chopped sun dried tomatoes (or DeLallo Sun Dried Tomato Bruschetta with most of the oil drained)
2 eggs
1/2  cup panko breadcrumbs
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 teaspoons kosher salt
1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 teaspoon Italian seasoning (I like McCormick’s spice grinder)
Olive oil

Combine all ingredients and mix until just combined.  Shape chicken mixture into 1-2″ balls.  Heat olive oil in a large pan over medium heat.  Cook meatballs until evenly browned and cooked through.  You can also brown the meatballs, and then finish them in the oven at 450º F for about 10-12 minutes.  (I like to do cook them this way in the winter time when it’s not too hot to have the oven on.)  Serve with a green salad or side of your choice.  They are great leftover too!

Leave a Reply

