Mexican Chicken Meatballs

IMG_3319I made these Mexican Chicken Meatballs almost a month ago and have waited way too long to post the recipe (I hope I can remember the ingredients)!  As my chicken meatball obsession continues, I am all about finding new ways to make them.  I LOVE tacos too so combining both of them was a no brainer.  I made this batch of meatballs slightly smaller than regular ones I make so 2 to 3 of them they easily fit into a soft corn tortilla.  Eventually, I’d like to make my own corn tortillas, but in the meantime, La Tortilla Factory Hand Made Style White Corn Tortillas are my favorite.  I just heat them up in a pan with a little bit of oil.  Serve them with the meatballs and your favorite taco toppings.  I used Fresh Express’s chopped salad mix with their Greek yogurt jalapeno ranch dressing.  Yummmm!!!

Ingredients
1 pound lean ground chicken
1/4 cup panko bread crumbs
1 egg
Half a small white onion, finely chopped
2 tablespoons diced green chiles
1-2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
1/4 teaspoon cumin
1/4 teaspoon  chili powder
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
Tortillas and toppings for serving

In a small skillet over medium heat,  saute onion and green chiles in a small amount of olive oil until onions are soft.  Transfer to a bowl and let cool slightly.  And ground chicken and remaining ingredients and mix well to combine.  Form into small meatballs, about 1-1 1/2 inches in diameter.  Cook in small batches until evenly browned and cooked through.  Serve with tortillas and slaw or your choice of toppings.

Leave a Reply

