Fresh Blueberry Bars

IMG_2738As promised in my last post, here is the recipe for fresh blueberry bars.  I think I’ve mentioned this before, but for some reason, I like to bake at night.  Like 9:00 at night when the last thing I should be doing is making a mess in the kitchen.  It’s the same way when I paint.  I must be more creative during those hours, and I guess it’s my way of unwinding too.  I ended up making these bars on Saturday night, and they were really good for breakfast the following morning.  I’ve been eating them with a handful of walnuts so I’ll probably just add them in next time, and I may even try to cut down the sugar even more.  In addition, I used Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free 1-to-1 Baking Mix instead of regular flour.  I don’t have a gluten allergy, but I like to use this mix in place of regular flour.  Feel free to double the recipe if serving to a larger group.  I used a square brownie pan, which made 12 bars.

Ingredients
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons coconut oil, at room temp
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons coconut almond butter
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
2 tablespoons honey
1 egg
1 teaspoon baking  powder
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
Pinch of kosher salt
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free 1-to-1 Baking Flour
1/2 pint blueberries

Preheat oven to 350° F.  Line a brownie pan with foil so it extends over the edges.  In a large bowl, beat the coconut oil, almond butter, brown sugar, and honey on medium to high until combined.  Add egg and vanilla and beat until combined.  Beat in  dry ingredients.  Fold in blueberries until just combined.  Spread mixture in the prepared pan and bake for 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.  Cool completely on a wire rack.  Remove from pan (with foil) and cut into bars.  Refrigerate if not serving right away. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

