Breakfast Sweet Potato Muffins

IMG_1171I’ve mentioned before breakfast can be a struggle for me.  I don’t eat eggs on their own or if  they’re the main ingredient in a dish, like quiche.  I also don’t like yogurt and prefer smoothies during warmer months.  These aversions really limit me especially when it comes to protein options.  I’ve been wanting to try out a muffin recipe that incorporates both savory and sweet ingredients with some added protein.  I was originally going to try out a corn muffin base but came across a recipe on Taste of Home that used sweet potatoes instead.   I made a few changes to the original recipe, and they turned out delicious!  These muffins are my new go-to breakfast.  Serve with fresh blueberries and enjoy!

Ingredients
1 cup mashed sweet potatoes
2 large eggs
1/4 cup butter, melted
1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
1/2 cup maple syrup
3/4 cup Pamela’s Baking & Pancake Mix (gluten-free)
1/2 cup quick cook oats
1/4 cup brown sugar*
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon salt
7-8 links Jones All Natural Golden Brown® Chicken Breakfast Sausage, heated and diced into small pieces

 

Preheat oven to 350º F.  In a large bowl, combine brown sugar, gluten-free baking mix, oats, cinnamon, cloves, and salt.  In a medium bowl, combine the sweet potatoes, eggs, butter, oil and syrup.  Add the sweet potato mixture to the dry ingredients and stir just until moistened. Fold in the sausage.  Fill 12 paper-lined muffin cups 3/4 full.  Bake at 350° F for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in muffin comes out clean. Cool for 5 minutes before removing from pan to a wire rack.  Serve warm and refrigerate leftovers.

*When I make these again, I’ll probably omit brown sugar.  Original recipe called for triple the amount in white sugar and half the maple syrup.  I think the extra maple syrup I added will give the muffins enough sweetness even without the brown sugar.

 

Leave a Reply

