New Year, New Eats

IMG_0736Happy New Year!  This year, I’ve decided not to make an resolutions but instead, set some new goals.  For starters, I want to blog 3-4 times a month, which means I need to get cooking and posting!  Some of my other goals include doing at least one new painting a month and reading 1-2 books a month (instead of watching so much TV/being on my phone, iPad, etc.).

This past weekend, I tried a great new recipe from Cooking Light for Chicken Kofte.  I’ve never had kofte before, and it is usually made with lamb. Kofte refers to the meat being ground instead of cubed.  Ground chicken was a great substitute, and combined with a mixture of seasonings and tzatziki sauce, it was delicious!  Serve with broiled or roasted zucchini, extra tzatziki, hummus, and pita.  When I make this again, I think I’ll shape the kofte into small meatballs and serve on pita or naan as a sandwich.

I’m looking forward to sharing lots of new recipes with you this year!  What are you looking forward to in 2016?

Ingredients
1 pound ground chicken
1/4 cup tzatziki
1/4 cup breadcrumbs
1/4 cup grated onion
3 tablespoons chopped fresh mint or 1 tablespoon dried mint
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/8 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper
2 teaspoons olive oil

In a large bowl, combine ground chicken, tzatziki, breadcrumbs, onion, mint, cumin, salt, pepper, and cayenne pepper.  Mix to combine.  Shape chicken mixture into 8 patties.  Heat olive oil over medium heat, and add patties.  Cook 4 minutes on each side or until done.  As mentioned above, serve with zucchini, tzatziki, hummus, and pita!

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Eats

Leave a Reply

