Healthy Choices

Since Thanksgiving, I have been behind on my blog, but I haven’t been behind on cooking and trying new recipes!  In an attempt to further tighten up my diet and “lean out” a little, I’ve recently cut out cheese and am trying to consume less grains.  So far it’s going pretty well.  I don’t miss cheese as much as I thought I would, and the few nights I had it last week (due to work events and a pizza craving), I felt less than great after.  I had a milk allergy as a baby, and in the last year or so, I haven’t been able to tolerate certain cheeses like I used to, especially aged ones.  They cause my Rosacea to flare up (tiny breakouts that look like a rash on my face are not a good look for me) and make me bloated.  Even an acupuncturist told me before to stop eating cheese to help with my allergies.  It’s so good though!!!  I could probably type an entire article on how much I love cheese . . . The grains are more of a challenge, but I’ve been swapping in veggies when I can.  For example, I made tacos and used lettuce wraps instead of tortillas, and last night, I finally tried cauliflower rice* (see quick recipe idea below) and loved it!

For breakfast, I’ve tried two different kinds of muffins.  One is a 6 ingredient muffin made up of almond or peanut butter, mashed bananas, eggs, baking powder, vanilla, and cinnamon.  If you follow me on Instagram, you can find the recipe there.  They’re super easy to make.  The second muffin is a Zesty Lemon Blueberry one.  I love anything lemon.  Citrus is so refreshing especially first thing in the morning.  I paired one muffin with some all-natural chicken breakfast sausage and wasn’t hungry again till lunch.

What healthy choices are you making?

Ingredients
1/3 cup plus 2 tablespoons coconut flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
2 tablespoons honey
1/2 cup canned coconut milk (use the full fat one)
2 tablespoons coconut oil, melted
3 eggs
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Zest and juice of 1 lemon
1/2 cup fresh blueberries

IMG_0298Preheat oven to 350º F.  Line a muffin tin (6 muffins) with baking cups.  In a small bowl, combine coconut flour and baking soda.  In a medium bowl, whisk together honey, coconut milk, coconut oil, eggs, vanilla, lemon zest and juice.  Stir in the coconut flour mixture and gently fold in the blueberries.  Transfer batter to prepared muffin tin.  Bake for 30 to 35 minutes (toothpick when inserted should come out clean).  Cool muffins on a wire rack and store in fridge.  You can warm them up in the microwave or oven for breakfast in the morning.

*Cauliflower Rice: This is a great swap for rice!  I’ve never been a fan of cauliflower, but you don’t even realize your eating it.  To make, just grate a head of cauliflower on the large holes of a box grater.  Place in large bowl, cover, and microwave on high for 4 minutes.  Et voila, your done!  Serve with stir fry or season separately as a side dish.
IMG_0355

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

