Slow Cooker Chicken Burrito Bowls

Tomorrow marks the first day of fall, and while I’m sad summer is over, I’m excited because tomorrow is also my birthday!!! 🙂  I love all birthdays and believe they should be celebrated as much as possible.  Each day we’re here is a blessing and a privilege I don’t ever want to take for granted.

But I digress, as much as I love summer, I do love the change of seasons.  Fall is such a beautiful time of year, and there is still plenty of time to enjoy the weather before winter sets in.  It also marks a transition to different kinds of foods and a perfect time to try out new recipes.  I made two new recipes this week, and luckily, they both turned out great!  The slow cooker chicken burrito bowls (originally seen on The Kitchn) were easy to make and great for lunch or dinner.  I also made a butternut squash, apple, and oatmeal bake, which I’ll write about in a separate post.  For the burrito bowls, feel free to use brown or jasmine rice.  I was out of brown rice, but the jasmine made a good substitute.  I also used chipotle chili powder instead of regular chili powder, flavored diced tomatoes, fire-roasted corn, made a few other additions, and left out the black beans.  I will definitely be making this dish again, and I hope you enjoy it too!

Ingredients
1 1/2 pounds chicken breast
1 14.5-ounce can Muir Glen Garlic and Onion diced tomatoes
1/2 cup chicken stock, plus more for rice preparation
2 teaspoons chipotle chili powder
2 teaspoons Kosher salt
1 teaspoon cumin
1 cup brown or jasmine rice
1-2 green onion, sliced
2 tablespoons fresh cilantro, chopped
1 14.75-ounce can Del Monte Fire-Roasted Corn, drained
Toppings: shredded cheese, fresh cilantro, green onion, salsa, and guacamole

IMG_9524Combine the chicken breasts, diced tomatoes, 1/2 cup of chicken stock, chipotle chili powder, salt, and cumin in a slow cooker. Make sure the chicken is covered, and add more stock if necessary.  Cover and cook on low for 5 hours (or longer depending on your slow cooker).

During the last half hour of cooking time, prepare the rice according to package directions, subbing in chicken stock for 2/3 of the water.  While the rice is cooking, add the corn, green onion, and cilantro to the chicken mixture.  Once the chicken is done, shred with two forks, and then add the rice.  Stir well to combine.

IMG_9536Serve in bowls with shredded cheese, additional green onion and cilantro, salsa, guacamole, and any other toppings you desire!

Leave a Reply

