Pulled Pork Tacos

IMG_9209A few weeks ago, I finally bought a slow cooker, and I’m so glad I did.  Since it’s been pretty hot and humid lately and my kitchen is without A/C, I needed to take a break from using the oven and stove.  I had a slow cooker years ago that someone gave to me, but I never really used it.  I ended up leaving it at my former place of employment for the guys to use for their annual Christmas party.  Lucky them!  Not knowing a lot about slow cookers/crock pots, I did a little research and ended up purchasing the Cuisinart PSC-350 3-1/2-Quart Programmable Slow Cooker.  So far it’s been great!  I love that it switches to warm once the cooking time is finished.

I am also looking forward to using it in the winter so I can make more than one meal on Sunday when I’m prepping for the week.  I don’t always feel like cooking on nights I get home late so this will be a huge help.

This past Sunday, I had late afternoon plans to make dinner for friends who just had a baby and to hang out with their other two little ones. 🙂  Since I wasn’t going to be home to cook later, I decide to try my hand at shredded pork tacos.  I’ve been craving them and figured they would be easy to attempt.  I found two different recipes but ended up coming up with my own combination of ingredients.  They were delicious!  The pork was tender and flavorful and just what I was in the mood for.

Ingredients
2 pounds pork tenderloin
1 cup chicken stock
1 15 ounce can Muir Glen Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes
3 cloves garlic
2-3 chipotle peppers in adobo
1/2 white onion, chopped
1  tablespoon apple cider vinegar
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 tablespoon chile powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
Corn or flour tortillas
Salsa
Guacamole
Shredded Mexican blend cheese (optional)
Fresh cilantro, limes, and/or sliced radishes for garnishes

Place the pork tenderloin in the slower cooker and add the chile powder, salt, chicken stock, tomatoes, and garlic cloves (whole).  In a food processor or mini-prep, combine 2-3 chipotle peppers, half of the adobo sauce, onion, vinegar, and brown sugar.  Pulse to combine.  Add to the pork mixture. Stir to combine and evenly coat the pork
Cook on low for 8 hours.  Using two forks, shred the pork.  Serve with warm corn or flour tortillas, salsa, guacamole, and your choice of garnishes.  Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

