Hummus Baked Chicken with Zucchini & Potato Hash

This last month of summer is flying by, and I’ve been trying to enjoy it as much as I can.  I’ve spent the last few weeks going to the beach, catching up with friends and family, meeting new babies, and so much more.  This weekend friends from college are visiting, and I can’t wait to see them!  This past May marked 15 years since we’ve graduated, and even though we barely since each other once a year, if that, when we do get together it’s as if no time has passed.

My summer activities have kept me from my blog, but I’ve still been doing a lot of cooking.  I came across a recipe for hummus baked chicken a few weeks ago and couldn’t wait to make it!  The hummus gets crispy on the outside, like the chicken is breaded, but keeps the chicken moist on the inside.  You can make your own hummus, but I used a roasted red pepper one made fresh at a local grocery store.  It’s the closest to my favorite brand, Bobbi’s Hummus, which I haven’t been able to find anywhere.  I paired the chicken with a zucchini and potato hash-recipe compliments of my friend Heather and her husband Jason (They’re both really great cooks).  They made it with grilled pork tenderloin when I went to visit a few weeks ago, and it was soooo good!

Ingredients
For the chicken:
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
Kosher salt
Freshly ground pepper
1 cup homemade or store-bought hummus (any flavor)
Olive oil
1/2 teaspoon paprika

For the hash:
1 medium to large zucchini, chopped
1 medium Vidalia onion, chopped
2 cups frozen hash brown potatoes (you can also cut up potatoes)
1 tablespoon olive oil
Kosher salt
Freshly ground pepper
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon garlic powder

IMG_8870Preheat oven to 450º F.  Lightly coat a baking dish with olive oil or cooking spray.

Season chicken breast with salt and pepper.  Place the hummus in a medium bowl and add the chicken breast, one at a time, and toss until well-coated.

Place the chicken in the prepared baking dish and sprinkle with 1/2 teaspoon paprika.  Bake at 450º F for about 20 minutes.

While the chicken is baking, heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a large pan over medium-high heat.  Add the onions and potatoes, stirring frequently.  Once the potatoes begin to brown, add the zucchini and seasonings.  The measurements I listed are an estimate so feel free to add more to taste.  Cook until zucchini is tender.  Serve with the chicken and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

