Peanut Butter Banana Blueberry Oatmeal Bake

IMG_8630IMG_8633IMG_8636
For the past few weeks I’ve been making green smoothies for breakfast.  Typically I blend together a banana, small green apple, baby spinach, pineapple, lemon juice, turmeric, ground ginger and water.  But now that berries are in season, especially Jersey blueberries, I’ve swapped those in for the pineapple.  This week, in keeping with the berry theme, I wanted to do a spinach salad with blueberries, strawberries, grilled chicken, and walnuts for lunch.  So that left me needing a different option for breakfast, and this oatmeal bake was the perfect choice.  My mom gave me this recipe last year, and I usually make it in the winter.  It’s really easy to prepare, and I normally make it on a Sunday night so I have it for the week for breakfast.  I decided to add peanut butter this time, and I’m glad I did!  It gives it a little more substance, and the added protein is a bonus.  I’m less “hangry” once lunchtime rolls around. 🙂

Ingredients
2 ripe bananas, sliced into 1/2″ pieces
1 1/2 cup blueberries
1/4 cup honey (I used local blueberry blossom honey-yum!)IMG_8637
1 cup uncooked quick oats (I used old-fashioned whole grain oats)
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp or more cinnamon
pinch of Kosher salt
1 cup 2% milk (or any milk you want)
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup peanut butter (optional)

Preheat oven to 375° F.  Lightly spray an 8 x 8″ or 9 x 9″ baking dish with cooking spray.  Arrange the banana slices in a single layer on the bottom of the dish. Sprinkle half of the blueberries over the bananas, 1/4 tsp of the cinnamon, 1 tbsp of the honey and cover with foil. Bake 15 minutes, until the bananas get soft.  Remove from the oven.

IMG_8638In the meantime, combine the oats, half of the walnuts, baking powder, rest of the cinnamon, and salt in a medium bowl.  In a separate bowl, whisk together the rest of the honey, milk, egg, vanilla, and peanut butter.

IMG_8642Pour the oat mixture over the bananas and blueberries.  Then pour the milk mixture over the oats, making sure to distribute it evenly over the oats.  Sprinkle the remaining blueberries and walnuts over the top.

Bake for 30 minutes, or until the top is golden brown and the oatmeal has set.  Serve warm from the oven or reheat if serving leftover.  Feel free to try different fruit in this recipe.  I’ve made it with strawberries, and it was really good!    IMG_8646

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Banana Blueberry Oatmeal Bake

Leave a Reply

