Southwestern Black Bean Burgers

IMG_7711Let me start off by saying I’m not a big fan of beans.  Growing up, one of my least favorite dinners was pork chops and baked beans or a favorite of my dad’s-Penny Stew (cut up hot dogs mixed with baked beans).  My dad still teases me about it today!  It’s more of a texture thing than taste, and I wish I liked them more because they’re good for you and are in a lot of healthy dishes.

So despite my aversion to beans, I thought I’d give these “burgers” a try.  Even though the black beans are the star of this recipe, they are blended with the other ingredients, and you don’t feel like you’re eating a mouthful of beans.  They’re easy to make and were good leftover for lunch for the week.

Ingredients 
1 cup old-fashioned oats
1 (15.5 oz) can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 egg
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon salt
2-3 green onions, chopped
2 tablespoons fresh cilantro, chopped
Grated or sliced pepper jack cheese
4 hamburger buns of your choice (I used whole grain sandwich thins, toasted)
Guacamole

IMG_7712Place the oats in a food processor and pulse to roughly chop.  Add half the beans to the food processor and pulse until a coarse paste is formed.  Add the egg, cumin and salt.  Process to mix well.

IMG_7713Transfer the mixture to a large bowl.  Stir in the remaining beans (I only used half of the remaining beans), green onions, and cilantro.  Wet hands and form mixture into four patties.  Transfer to a baking sheet and refrigerate for 10 minutes to allow patties to firm up.

IMG_7714Coat a large skillet with cooking spray.  Over medium-high heat, cook patties until browned, about 4-5 minutes each side.  Top with pepper jack cheese after flipping.  Serve on hamburger buns of your choice with guacamole.  Enjoy!

One thought on “Southwestern Black Bean Burgers

Leave a Reply

