NYC, Art and Happy (Almost) Summer!

To say I’ve been behind on my blog posts is an understatement!!!  I’m not sure where the rest of April, or the month of May for that matter, went!  If you read my last post, I mentioned I was heading to NYC soon to visit one of my best friends from college.  It was a great trip!  I never made it to The Meatball Shop, but I did get to check out the High Line, Chelsea Market, Gansevoort Market, and Maialino.

IMG_7957The High Line is a public park built on a historic unused freight rail line elevated above the streets on Manhattan’s West Side.  It’s a beautiful stretch of flowers, shrubs and trees with different food vendors, seating areas, and art.  It’s a must do in NYC!  The Gansevoort Market has a bunch of different food vendors as does Chelsea Market along with different shops.  You could easily spend the whole day eating and shopping at both markets!  And at Sunday brunch at Maialino in Gramercy Park, I had the most delicious ricotta pancakes with rhubarb and maple syrup and a side of crispy pancetta bacon.  When can I go back?!

In addition to my NYC travels, I was also busy working on paintings for past/upcoming art shows.  Last month’s theme was “Windows” and the two June shows are “My Letter Carrier”, inspired by Van Gogh’s famous postman series, and “Flowers”.   It’s the most I’ve painted in a while so I’m hoping to keep up with it.

"Ode to Matisse  III"

“Ode to Matisse III”

"Van Gogh's Postman"

“Van Gogh’s Postman”

"Razzle Dazzle Rose"

“Razzle Dazzle Rose”

Luckily, I have been able to do some cooking too, and have new recipes to share such as Southwestern Black Bean Veggie Burgers, Sweet Potato Puffs, Chicken Chili, and more!  I’m also happy summer is almost here and am looking forward to beach days, lots of ice cream, summer produce, and trying out new dishes!  Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

