Quinoa and Chorizo Stuffed Mini Peppers

IMG_7604I’ve been way behind on my blog posts!  Last weekend I had a spaghetti dinner fundraiser for the Love of Linda Cancer Fund so I didn’t have a chance to cook.  If you’re not familiar with Love of Linda, it’s a WONDERFUL organization that provides financial assistance to Cape May County, NJ cancer patients.  It was started 20 years ago in memory of my best friend’s mom after she passed away at the young age of 46 from ovarian cancer.  Since then, we’ve given over $1.6 million to patients.  Every year we hold a spaghetti dinner to help raise funds, and last week’s was a huge success! (You can learn more about Love of Linda here.)

And tonight I had my parents over for dinner.  I made grilled petite sirloin steaks on garlic bread with mustard-shallot sauce, asparagus, and baked pomme frites.  While everything was delicious, there isn’t too much of a recipe to post so I’m going to share the recipe for stuffed mini peppers I made a few weeks ago.

I made a similar version of the peppers before using only quinoa.  This time I added chorizo, and it made them that much better.  I made up the recipe as I went along so hopefully I get all of the quantities right since I didn’t write this one down.

Ingredients IMG_7576
About 15 mini bell peppers
1/2 cup quinoa, rinsed well
1/2 cup chicken stock
1 pound chorizo, casing removed
4 tomatillos, chopped
1 small yellow onion, chopped
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 cup 4 cheese Mexican blend
Salsa (I made homemade mango salsa)
Guacamole

Combine quinoa, chicken stock (instead of water), cumin, garlic powder and chili powder in a large sauce pan,  and prepare as directed on package.

While the quinoa is cooking, brown the chorizo in a large pan over medium-high heat.  Use a wooden spoon to break up the chorizo into smaller pieces.  Drain and transfer to a large bowl.  To the same pan, add the tomatillos and onion.  Cook until the onion is soft.  Transfer to the bowl with the chorizo.

Once the quinoa is finished cooking, add to the chorizo mixture and stir to combine.  Set aside.

IMG_7569For the peppers, I lightly grilled them first on my Cuisinart Griddler, but you can skip this step if you want.  I find it makes the peppers more tender though.  If you grill the peppers, let them cool first before cutting in half lengthwise and removing the seeds and ribbing.  Transfer them to a large baking dish.  Spoon a small amount of the chorizo mixture into each pepper half and top with cheese.

Bake at 350º F until cheese is melted.  Serve with salsa and guacamole!

Keep an eye out for additional posts this week for easy and delicious chicken meatballs and some new variations of my Larabar® bites!

Leave a Reply

