Nana’s Banana Bread and Buffalo Chicken Spaghetti Squash Bake

IMG_7330

My Nana and I. I don’t think she knew how to ride a bike so it must have been just for show. 🙂

Since I’m really behind on my posts, I thought I’d share two recipes today.  A few weekends ago, I had a girls weekend with one of my best friends and her 3 girls.  The girls wanted to make banana bread, but I didn’t have my Nana’s recipe with me.  We used one I found online and the bread and muffins turned out great, but my Nana’s is still my favorite!  I have fond memories of her making this when I was little, and along with her homemade lemonade and potato cakes, her banana bread was always a special treat.  It was fun baking with my 2 “nieces” (the third had a party to go to).  I’m used to cooking and baking by myself so it was nice to have some help in the kitchen and to be able to spend quality time together.

IMG_7292The second recipe is for Buffalo Chicken Spaghetti Squash Bake.  I got the recipe from another blog I follow called Gluten Free Jess.  Spaghetti squash is so versatile and a healthy alternative to pasta, and it did not disappoint in this dish.  I used rotisserie chicken breast instead of cooking my own chicken.  Other than that I followed the recipe as stated.*  You can get it by clicking on the link above.  I served it with some guacamole and chips.

*Note: The recipe calls for a 1/2 cup of hot sauce, which gave it a good kick.  Use less if you want to turn down the heat.

Ingredients
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter, softened
2 eggs
1 cup mashed bananas (about 2 medium bananas)
1 teaspoon orange juice (or lemon juice)
2 cups flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt

IMG_7168Preheat oven to 350° F.  Grease and flour a loaf pan.  In a large bowl, cream sugar and butter.  Add eggs one by one and beat well after each addition.  Add bananas and orange juice and beat well.  In another bowl, sift dry ingredients together.  Add to banana mixture in increments and mix well.  Pour mixture in prepared loaf pan and bake for 1 hour at 350º F.  Let cool before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.  Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Nana’s Banana Bread and Buffalo Chicken Spaghetti Squash Bake

Leave a Reply

