Kale, Apple & Quinoa Salad

And speaking of savory quinoa (if you read my last post), this salad is a must-try!  If you’re familiar with Wawa, you might have had their new Kale & Quinoa Salad.  It’s a delicious combination of kale, quinoa, green apples, yellow peppers, dried cranberries, and goat cheese with a champagne vinaigrette.  It’s so good I decided to attempt to recreate it at home, and I would like to think I succeeded!  It makes for a great side dish or a stand alone for lunch.  I made the vinaigrette in a smaller portion so I can make it fresh every day or so.  If you want to make it up all at once, I would probably at least double or triple that part of the recipe.  And since the quinoa absorbs a lot of liquid, I would add the vinaigrette to the salad when you’re ready to eat it.  Yummm!!!

IngredientsIMG_7054
1 cup quinoa, rinsed well
1 package baby kale or 1 head of kale
1 yellow pepper, finely chopped
1 green apple, finely chopped
Dried cranberries
Goat cheese
3 tablespoons Dijon mustard
3 tablespoons white vinegar
3 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice

Cook the quinoa according to package directions.  While the quinoa is cooking, chop the kale, if not using baby kale, into bite size pieces.  In a small bowl, whisk together the Dijon mustard, white vinegar, apple cider vinegar, and lemon juice.  Once the quinoa is ready, transfer to a large bowl and let cool completely.  Combine the cooled quinoa, yellow pepper and apple.  When ready to serve, divide the quinoa mixture among bowls.  Top with the cranberries, goat cheese, kale and vinaigrette.  I layered mine in a mason jar for lunch tomorrow!IMG_7055

4 thoughts on “Kale, Apple & Quinoa Salad

  1. I just tried this salad from Wawa last weekend. Loved it so much I want to make myself. Glad I found your recipe 😀.

  2. Tried the dressing but it’s a little to pungent for me. I wonder if I cut back on the mustard would that do it. I love the salad and was glad to find this recipe. Goat cheese isn’t my favorite, any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

