Homemade Quick (Refrigerator) Pickles

photo 3 (2)Who doesn’t love pickles???!!!  Seriously, is there anything better?  Growing up, there was a WaWa just around the corner from my parents’ house, and I would love when my dad would get pickles from the big barrel for us.  (It’s amazing how the simple things in life made you happy as kid.)  If you read my last post, then you know that I was lucky enough to receive an abundance of tomatoes and cucumbers from a friend’s neighbor.  I got a second batch, and instead of making another cucumber salad, I thought I’d give homemade pickles a try.  I ended up combining two separate recipes and sort of just made up the rest as I went along.  I have to wait 48 hours before I can taste the final product so hopefully they’re good!

Ingredientsphoto 1
2 large cucumbers
1 3/4 cups white vinegar
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
1 1/2 cups water
1/4 cup sugar
2 1/3 tablespoons Kosher salt (I couldn’t find pickling salt. Original recipe called for 2 tablespoons pickling salt)
6 garlic cloves, coarsely chopped
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper per jar (1 teaspoon total)
1 teaspoon dill seed per jar (4 teaspoons total)-I had fresh dill seed so I just added a handle of sprigs to each jar
1/2 teaspoon dried dill per jar (2 teaspoons total)-Or you can use fresh dill sprigs
1/2 teaspoon black peppercorns per jar (2 teaspoons total)

In a large saucepot, combine vinegars, water, sugar and salt. Bring to a simmer.

photo 1 (2)Wash and slice the cucumbers to desired thickness.  Arrange four 1 pint canning jars on counter and pack the cucumber slices into the jars. Add the spices next.  (I also sliced up a cherry bomb pepper and added it to one of the jars to give those pickles an extra kick.)

Pour the brine into each jar, leaving approximately ½ inch headspace.   Tap jars gently on countertop to dislodge any trapped air bubbles.  Apply the lids and let jars cool to room temperature.  Place jars in refrigerator and let them sit for at least 48 hours before eating.  They will last for about a month (if you don’t eat them before that!)9333bec57111c4a33874c62654dff8f4

2 thoughts on “Homemade Quick (Refrigerator) Pickles

Leave a Reply

